New Contributor to the Blog

Hi – I am pleased to announce a new contributor to the blog.  This new writer is from the United States and will be able to bring a new perspective to Social Justice within a library context.  Please pull up your chair and enjoy…

_____________________________________

Hello! I’m so pleased to be able to contribute to the SJL Blog!

I am currently an urban public librarian in the Northeastern U.S. I spent much of my career in New York City where I went from public to nonprofit to corporate, with a brief stint in academic librarianship somewhere in between. From this varied background, as well as an increasingly alarmed and rebellious worldview, I have come to the conclusion that committed librarians (and everyone else for that matter) can and should help reinvent and improve society.  This especially applies to groups and individuals who have been and may continue to be discriminated against and/or who lack resources and educational opportunities.

I have served on the executive board of my labor union, recently joined Twitter (@BfloLibrarian) and frequently contribute to forums that advocate for libraries, librarians. I am also a runner, the mother of two lively girls, and the leader of a post-punk indie band.

In writing for SJL, I hope to push the envelope, to inspire leadership, questioning, and even anger if need be. Ultimately, I want to make a case for all of us, librarians in particular, to be community improvers, innovators and educators; to not accept or adjust to a dysfunctional status quo. To paraphrase Martin Luther King:

There are some things for which I am proud to be maladjusted and I call upon all people of good will to be maladjusted;  discrimination, religious bigotry and economic conditions that will take necessities from the many to give luxuries to the few, leave millions of gods’ children smothering in an airtight cage of poverty in the midst of an affluent society…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

